Laniege BB Cushion + Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion Review

Beauty, Makeup

BB cushion Laneige Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion

The BB Cushion trend is not for everyone to catch up on. I knew it was never going to be my thing, but when I was sent 5 different brands of BB Cushion, I thought “Ok, what’s the worst that could happen?

The BB Cushion is my opinion, is overhyped, overly cloned by too many brands (apparently even Lancome has it now too) and just overly unnecessary. I will not lie, I was completely obsessed when I first tried it for a couple of days……until. Let me walk you through what my experience with Laniege BB Cushion and Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion was like.

IMG_1590

BB Cushion comes in a liquid foundation formula, but it is soaked into a sponge. You have to use the puff provided to dap the foundation from this sponge like thingy as seen above.

IMG_1591

IMG_1592

As you may have noticed, the Laneige and Sulwhasoo packing is soooo similar – the only difference being the colour combination: Silver and white for Laneige and Gold and whie for Sulwhasoo. Even their sponge uses the same technology. I’m not a fan of the sponge because it literally became deformed when I washed it with just a bit of soap and water. The reason why both of these products are so similar is because they are from the same Korean parent company. The only difference is that Sulwhasoo is herb infused. I also did try this product, review will be below.

♥ ♥♥♥

Peeling the protective sticker from the compact casing of the Laniege BB Cushion was such a luxurious feeling… I have to say Laniege’s packaging is amazing – super classy. I wanted to love what was inside the packaging so badly. Upon my first application, I was very pleased with its immediate results:

♥ My face had a super even and smooth tone

Skin tone was one shade down, yet it looked natural (every girl’s dewy ‘no makeup’ make up kinda look)

♥ Worn by itself, it gave me almost full coverage, as if I had concealer, foundation AND powder on (Wow.)

I was truly blown away… after 6 hours at work, I decided to touch up by applying another thin layer.

✘ Face immediately looked cakey

✘ I looked like I was wearing a mask

✘ It really just felt… uncomfortable.

Couldn’t wait to get home to remove it So when I finally got home, I used my Shu Uemura Oil cleanser to remove it (bear in mind that I only had the BB Cushion on and NOTHING else)

✘ it was so difficult to remove

✘ Even after washing and washing my face, I felt like I still had some remnants left.

On the second day, I decided that I loved the fact that I could use it on its own so much, that I decided to give it a second try. This time, I did not re-apply through out the day. Even though I did not re-apply, washing it off at the end of the day still felt really sticky, as if I was washing tar from the surface of my skin. I brainwashed myself to ignore this flaw of the product since it looked nice on my skin in the day.

So on the third day, I only used the BB cushion again. I woke up with terrible skin the next day. So many…so many pimples. They were like little bumps. Probably a really bad rash. I never ever get pimples – not on such a scale anyway. The only guess I could make it that after the 3 days of using this BB cushion and the arduous task of removing it at the end of the day, the remnants must have built up in my skin and clogged my pores. I freaked out and packed the Laniege products somewhere deep in my closest, never to be seen again.

Because I loved the dewy effect of the BB cushion on my face, I decided to try Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion after that. This BB Cushion actually has even better reviews than the Laniege’s. I was hopeful that I wouldn’t react badly to this product too, but I kept my expectations low.

I also broke out thanks to this product. However, I have to mention that I think Sulwhasoo did a better job than the Laniege BB cushion. It was comparatively calmer on the skin (probably due to the herbs infused) and overall, the dewy effect lasted for longer.

Here’s the thing. Most BB Cushions have a certain ingredient in them that is unsuitable for sensitive skin. This is probably why there are countless girls selling their second hand BB Cushions on eBay and Carousell.

I went through the list of ingredients from both products –  Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate was the primary primary in both products which does not have a clean record, especially with sensitive skin. This chemical is used in almost all BB creams and cushions and plays a crucial role in producing a ‘dewy’ effect whilst having high SPF due to its sun shielding properties.

SUSPECT: Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate

Laneige bb cushion spg 50 ingredients Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion Ingredients

Functions:

According to CosmeticsInfo.org, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate (also called Octyl Methoxycinnamate) is an active ingredient in OTC sunscreen products. It is used in products that are applied to the skin to absorb, reflect or scatter UV rays; it protects the skin from sunburn and other damaging effects of the sun. Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate also protects cosmetics and personal care products from deterioration caused by UV rays and allows them to last longer in high UV conditions.

Safety Measures/Side Effects:

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) conducted an OTC drug review of Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate and did approve it for use in OTC sunscreens up to a concentration of 7.5%. However, it has been known to produce excess reactive oxygen species that can interfere with cellular signaling, cause mutations, and lead to cell death. This reaction may also be implicated in cardiovascular disease. As always, ingredients applied to skin may cause allergic reactions. One instance of this reaction was published in Contact Dermatology but was not significant enough to discourage FDA approval. (source)

So yeeaaaaap, bye bye BB indeed.

P.S. Nevertheless, I still do love Laniege products – especially their duo toned lipsticks that I did a review on previously.

signoff



5 thoughts on “Laniege BB Cushion + Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion Review

  1. Great review❤️ I have quite bad skin anyway, so I don’t think I’ll be purchasing this! It looked so perfect before you started saying all the bad stuff😭😭

    Like

    1. I think its a problem really only for those with sensitive skin. If your skin type is normal, just apply a thin layer and try not to reapply throughout the day and you will be pleased with the results. thanks for reading! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve tried two or three difference BB cushions and I have to say that I never fell in love with any of them. They are normally pretty expensive and they run out so quickly! I wouldn’t buy another one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

