Less is More

Beauty, Lookbook, Makeup

IMG_5782

IMG_5790

IMG_5827

IMG_5817

IMG_5809

IMG_5845

This week’s post is another lookbook one but I’ll be throwing in a review on the Marc Jacobs Re(Marc)able Full Cover Foundation Concentrate. Initially, I was just going to do a simple makeup review post but there was an unanticipated opportunity to get some pretty pictures taken when I met my bestie for lunch this afternoon. To cut a long story short, we dined at Stateland and were taken to the second floor because the first floor was full… and we basically had the entire second floor to ourselves for more than a full hour sooooo yeah this happened.

Don’t think I’m gonna talk about what I’m wearing because the outfit is pretty simple but I’ll state where I got the outfit from below if you’re interested to know anyway. What I do want to talk about is the new foundation that I had on for a grand total of TEN hours today. This foundation did. not. budge. I purchased it primarily because of the Sephora’s 20% sale in the weekend and had high expectations for it thanks to the countless dazzling blog reviews on it… but you know what – I didn’t love it. It did its job but somehow it just failed to wow me in terms of resulting appearance. It didn’t impress me like how a pricey luxury brand’s foundation really should.

marc jacobs remarcable foundation concentrate

What I liked about Marc Jacobs Re(Marc)able Full Cover Foundation Concentrate (shade – Honey Deep)

♥ Lasted ten hours on my face without necessity for a touch up (this came as a huge shocker – I personally have never encountered such longevity with other foundation brands)

♥ Very minimal oiliness / patchiness even after ten hours

♥ No skin reaction / allergy observed

♥ Extremely weightless – felt like I had no foundation on.

What I didn’t like so much

✘ Way too matte for my liking – I prefer a luminous effect that just looks healthier

✘ Precisely because its too matte, it basically looked like my skin. It was just weird and I felt like I could have completely done without it.

✘It does not photograph well – it oxidized to a shade darker than my skin colour (after merely an hour) that in turn caused the close-up pictures to appear dull and pretty much lifeless

✘Packaging wise, the bottle dispenses the foundation using a dropper – there is no pump. This can be messy and unhygienic to some but it doesn’t really matter that much to me.

marc jacobs remarcable foundation concentrate review

Left: Foundation freshly applied at 12pm; Right: Makeup with no touch up done throughout the day at 10.30pm. (no edits on both pictures)

Verdict: Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation remains to be my HG foundation. I would recommend Re(Marc)able to people who put on foundation on a very regular basis because it is really lightweight and lasts all day… but I do think having a nice luminous effect is much more attractive especially since I personally put on foundation once or twice a week at max.

Alrighty – before I wrap this post up I feel obliged to explain why the title of this post is ‘Less is More’. I put on false eyelashes without the assistance of a MUA today and it was my first time doing so. In the process of applying the falsies I stupidly stabbed myself in the eye with the prickly lashes a few times. On top of that, I realized that I looked like crap with the falsies – it made my eyelids appear to be really droopy and I was constantly tearing and ruining the rest of my eye makeup. I mean okay let’s put it this way – if you already have enough lashes like me, don’t be greedy and slap on fake ones. It just looks really over the top and goodness its just too uncomfortable to be even legal. Maybe I’m wearing it wrong but either ways – I peeled them off and threw them away even though they are supposed to be reusable.

Tie Up Top / Topshop

Velvet Shorts / Topshop (old)

Sandals / Charles and Keith (old)

P.S. My scalp condition is gradually improving – no more visible rashes on my forehead/hairline but most of it remains hidden on my scalp itself. Fingers and toes crossed!

signoff

Leave a Reply

