Styling For Love and Lemons Bralette

Beauty, Lookbook

Hi lovelies!

I’ve been lusting after the For Love and Lemons bralettes (aka ‘skivvies’ – hip term for undergarments) since I first saw them on the Gram more than a year ago. Sadly, they were (and still are) rather overpriced so I decided to wait for a special occasion to purchase a small piece of the lace haven.

Slight sidetrack before I get into how I actually styled my piece…I was so obssessed with the lace design of bralettes that I started designing and creating my own lace pieces from scratch in 2014… it was a tiny business which surprising went so well that it was sold out before my tailor quit out of the sheer complications of putting such delicate pieces of lace together. I wasn’t out to get rich from this little venture more than I was merely exercising my creative juices – so I let go of the concept once the second batch of my lace bralettes were sold out. In case you were wondering, I labelled these designs ‘Loungextatum’ / ‘Lounge by Tatum’. I shall insert a picture of what one of the designs looked like below –

IMG_8154

Pretty cute right?! Realizing that I could actually make something to wear from scratch was definitely one of the proudest moments of my life.

Back to FLAL – I finally placed an order for a royal blue piece in October last year thinking that it would reach me in time for my birthday in November – but as life would have it, it reached me just a few weeks ago (Jan 2016). Yep, it took 3 months to get to me. I guess good things are worth waiting for.

I was worried as hell about the fitting of the bralette because I hardly have any frontal lady lumps. (ahem) So you can imagine how pleasantly surprised I was when the bralette fit me like a dream! It’s completely pad-less and has little to no support (it does have an underwire but it really serves an aesthetic purpose more than anything else).

IMG_6866

fierce

IMG_6879

new infrared filter was too cool to skip

IMG_6870

I would totes wear this out on date night because YOTSO (you’re only twenty something once)

The moment I realized that it fitted like a glove (irony – gloves NEVER fit me because of my small hands), I knew that it simply could not restrict it as an undergarment. So, I set my mind to come up with different looks for which (daring) girls could get away with wearing these bralettes out. I mean, there’s no way I’m spending 100 bucks on an “undergarment” that is doomed to have only 1 moment of glory in an Instagram picture taken on my bed, at home, behind closed doors.

IMG_6856

Brunch outfit maybe

IMG_6844

super cool metallic flash tattoo which I got for Christmas

IMG_6854

Singapore’s beautiful skyline and my big butt

 Okay so I’m not gonna lie – this really wasn’t supposed to be a blog post with pictures because we had first intended to film a video for my recently set up Youtube channel. But the weather was not cooperating… it was sooo windy that I just couldnt keep still without my hair flying all over the place. Soooo instead of a super cool lookbook video that would have featured 3 different outfits, I decided to make do with this blog post. Hope you enjoyed reading!

 

signoff

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Styling For Love and Lemons Bralette

    1. Hi Lisa! Hahaha same for me.. it’s definitely more wearable under a loose tee but it’s too gorgeous to be concealed so a trusty blazer to cover up is an alternative! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

